Main content
Acqua for Life - Giorgio Armani - Water creates life and enpowers lives

Empowering communities by developing access to drinking water

ACQUA FOR LIFE PROJECTS

Map of ongoing and completed projects by Acqua Life
437 000
beneficiaries
21
countries
Over 12M€
invested in water
"Water is perhaps the element that I feel closest to. For me water represents life and regeneration, but also calmness and serenity. Access to clean water is undoubtedly one of the greatest challenges in the 21st century."
Giorgio Armani

Acqua for Life was created in 2010 from a philosophy as simple as it is fundamental: that water is one of the most important elements to life, as it creates life and empowers lives. Yet for 1 out of 9 people globally, clean water is difficult to access.

The Acqua for Life initiative focuses on delivering universal access to drinking water in water-scarce regions. Among its principal values are:

  • A comprehensive approach committed to addressing the issues of clean water, hygiene, and sanitation in the most deprived communities
  • Activities that include the installation of water points, latrines, and rainwater collection, water filtering, and water purification systems
  • A sustainable approach to structuring projects, including education for the community about how to maintain the projects and WASH (water, hygiene, and sanitation) behavior, to empower local communities and sustain Acqua for Life projects in the long term
Access to clean water has a positive socio-economic impact on communities’ health and livelihood. Via its projects, Acqua for Life’s mission is to play a role in helping people reclaim their right to drinking water and sanitation.

ACQUA FOR LIFE
BY VIVIANE SASSEN

Capturing the joyful journey to clean water in Madagascar and in Nepal, in partnership with WaterAid, Viviane Sassen created a film and photographs that illustrate the transformative power clean water. Her video and photos show the immanent connection between water and life. Viviane Sassen's aesthetic draws on documentary as much as staged photography, and its visual multitude invites myriad interpretations. The work aims to disregard traditional genre boundaries and tackle the often-problematic link between photography, imperialism, and the colonial imagination.

ACQUA FOR LIFE THROUGH AN ARTISTS' LENS

YOUR VOICE IS POWERFUL

Awareness drives decisions and behavior. Be part of a campaign and use the power of your voice to raise awareness about the water, sanitation and hygiene issues.

#ACQUAFORLIFE @ArmaniBeauty

Main content
Acqua for Life - Giorgio Armani - Water creates life and enpowers lives

Soutenir les communautés en développant l'accès à l'eau potable

LES PROJETS ACQUA FOR LIFE

Map of ongoing and completed projects by Acqua Life
437 000
bénéficiaires
21
pays
Plus de 12 millions d’euros
investis dans
l’approvisionnement en eau
"L'eau est sans doute l’élément auquel je me sens le plus connecté. À mon sens, l’eau représente la vie et la régénération, mais également le calme et la sérénité.
L’accès à l’eau potable est manifestement l’un des plus grands défis du XXIe siècle."
Giorgio Armani

Acqua for Life a été créé en 2010 à partir d'une philosophie aussi simple que fondamentale : que l'eau est l'un des éléments les plus importants de la vie, car elle crée la vie et renforce les vies. Pourtant, pour 1 personne sur 9 dans le monde, l'eau potable est difficile d'accès.

L'initiative Acqua for Life se concentre sur la fourniture d'un accès universel à l'eau potable dans les régions où l'eau est rare. Parmi ses principales valeurs figurent:

  • Une approche globale engagée pour résoudre les problèmes d'eau potable, d'hygiène et d'assainissement dans les communautés les plus démunies
  • Activités qui comprennent l'installation de points d'eau, de latrines et de systèmes de collecte d'eau de pluie, de filtrage de l'eau et de purification de l'eau
  • Une approche durable des projets structurants, y compris l'éducation de la communauté sur la façon de maintenir les projets et les comportements WASH (eau, hygiène et assainissement), pour autonomiser les communautés locales et soutenir les projets Acqua for Life sur le long terme
L'accès à l'eau potable a un impact socio-économique positif sur la santé et les moyens de subsistance des communautés. A travers ses projets, Acqua for Life a pour mission de jouer un rôle pour aider les populations à revendiquer leur droit à l'eau potable et à l'assainissement.

ACQUA FOR LIFE
PAR VIVIANE SASSEN

Viviane Sassen a immortalisé les joies de l'acheminement de l'eau potable à Madagascar et au Népal en partenariat avec WaterAid, au travers d'un film et de photographies qui illustrent le pouvoir de métamorphose que représente l'eau potable. Sa vidéo et ses photos mettent en lumière le lien indéfectible unissant l'eau et la vie. L’esthétique de Viviane Sassen s’inspire aussi bien des documentaires que de la photographie narrative, et sa multitude d’images invite à une myriade d’interprétations. Son œuvre vise à transcender les frontières de genre habituelles tout en évoquant le rapport souvent complexe entre la photographie, l’impérialisme et le mythe de la colonisation.

ACQUA FOR LIFE À TRAVERS L’ŒIL D’UNE ARTISTE

YOUR VOICE IS POWERFUL

Awareness drives decisions and behavior. Be part of a campaign and use the power of your voice to raise awareness about the water, sanitation and hygiene issues.

#ACQUAFORLIFE @ArmaniBeauty